Flash Fiction – 7th Ed.

I decided to do another Flash Fiction today because the inspiration picture sparked an idea.  For some reason, it fit right in with the recent research I’ve done to develop the outline for the next novel I plan on plinking away at.  The theme is fairly dark, so this story follows.

To join in the Flash Madness, go to Rochelle’s Purple Blog and follow the rules.

Concept: a weekly picture is posted, and the writer is challenged to produce one-hundred (more or less) words of some sort of fiction with a complete plot (beginning, middle and end). Here is my seventh installment:

Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

THE PERFECT CUT

He waited for the kitchen timer to chime.  It would be a while more.  The particular cut always took so long to cook correctly.  He even had time to set out the good china as well as clean up the courtyard.  A quick spray with the hose erased the mess.

He savored the memory of last night to pass the time.

“I think I love you,” she’d said.

“I could eat you up,” he answered.

The timer erupted with insistent, electronic beeps.  A thorough braise was the only way to cook, sometimes.

(92 words)

– – – – –

Critique and general abuse are welcome. Use the comment button and share your thoughts

61 Responses to “Flash Fiction – 7th Ed.”

  1. I so want to do this and am going to try from my phone since my computer shut down AGAIN.

  2. Far too real. Shudder. (a couple of recent murders here.)
    Like your word choice. The “savor” line is particularly good

  3. […] decided to attempt a Flash Fiction Challenge when I saw the inspiration pic on BrainRants’ blog. If you would like to give the challenge a try, start at Rochelle’s Purple Blog and join the […]

  4. Braise?? REALLY?!?

    I cannot believe you went there.

  5. Break out the chianti and fava beans, I say. Gruesomely good.

  6. Avoid the courtyard, I reckon. Bon appetit.

  7. The only thing sicker would be to share the meal with his next date…I mean victim. sinister…yes.

  8. Concise, clever and incredibly creepy!

  9. Dear Brain Rants,

    The only thing I can think of to say is “The secret’s in the sauce.” Well done or well braised. Bon apetit.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. Yoinks!
    The long cooking time can be annoying but it’s well worth the wait! Um, so I’ve heard…

  11. Loved this creepiness…it’s right up my alley! (not the murder part…just the writing. 🙂 )

  12. I was afraid you were going that way. Doesn’t everything taste like chicken? Although these days, much of the chicken might not.

    janet

  13. He must be having company. Just look at all those plates. I hope he has the right wine. I’m sure it will be a dinner to remember for his guests. 🙂

  14. Now THIS one is creepy… 🙂

    Long-pig tastes more like pork, I’ve heard…

  15. He sounds very experienced in this type of cuisine. That courtyard must have seen a lot of action – I hope he has discreet neighbours.

  16. So bad, that i had to read it a second time.
    A new twist on “Guess whose coming for dinner.”
    I am, definitely. not coming over for dinner.

    Great stuff.
    Randy

  17. Was the meal ruined? Leftovers again!

  18. Yucky but done well (the writing, not the meal). Hearing about the hose cleaning up “the mess” was worse, but this isn’t something crime shows don’t describe a lot. Creepy, but well written, Brain Rants. — Suzanne

  19. […] I Win « Flash Fiction – 7th Ed. […]

  20. This was a good picture for a murder story. Well done Rants.

Join the Ranting!

