I’m Doing It

Participant-2014-Square-ButtonYou all out there might recall that I took a step toward writing after several spastic attempts at Flash Fiction as well as the mediocre success of this very blog.  Okay, since you skipped over the links, try clicking the orange words before this one.

Thanks.  So I related my decision to wade into real writing mojo and sign up with the National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.  This annual event held each November (concurrent with that beard-growing thing for men’s balls that the Army won’t let me participate in) is an attempt to crank out 50,000 words in thirty days.  I even made a sidebar widget (that shit is on the homepage but I’ll let you geniusi figure out how to get there)(I’m tired of freebies) to track my progress.

Though I give you all sarcastic and ironic shit about never checking my home page, the sad truth is that I never do either.  That’s the downside.  The upside is that I’m normally in the Dashboard area, which only one of you out there will ever lay eyes on.  Don’t.  Ask.

Anyway, I checked my homepage and noted that I’d well surpassed the halfway mark of NaNo so far. According to maths, I should pass 25,000 words on the 15th of November.  Apparently I’m ahead of schedule and doing well, since today is the 14th and according to the NaNo page, I destroyed 25k two days ago.

Two words: Fuck. I’mwrintingamotherfuckingbook.

Yay?

27 Responses to “I’m Doing It”

  1. I’ll read it…as long as you don’t bore me! 🙂

  2. Awesome, Rants! Keep kicking ass!

  3. Haha….I love the “two words”. I guess I should head over to your home page, just so I can say I did!

  4. Fuck yeah, you are doing it. I’m not privy to it…your novel, your rules. So happy for you…yay.

  5. Let me guess, you’ve novelized your Buffy fan fiction, right?

  6. This is fucking cool. I wrote one create piece a couple of months ago that was 16,00 words. Just one piece. Granted it took a lot of time, but I’m thinking that I should be focusing on creative writing, rather than this daily prompt stuff. Maybe I should sign up for this wrimonoblopomogoproorwhateverthefuckitscalled.

  7. […] I added the astonished update about the fact that I’d racked up over half the word count just as the middle of November came […]

Join the Ranting!

