Flash Fiction – 5th Ed.

Obviously this business of moving and job changing has impacted my blogging.  Don’t ask what it’s done to my writing, since that’s basically not happening right now.  This post is an attempt to restart the creative process a bit.  A selfie boot in the ass, if you will.

If you want to join in the Flash Madness, go to Rochelle’s Purple Blog and follow the rules.

Concept: a weekly picture is posted, and the writer is challenged to produce one-hundred (more or less) words of some sort of fiction with a full plotline (beginning, middle and end). Here is my fifth installment:

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

JOURNEY

A poke at the burning hunks of hardwood sent a cloud of firefly embers into the jet night sky.  They swirled and died in a counterpoint to the distant, winking stars.

“Watch those grim thoughts,” I thought, “This is no time for cold feet.”

Tomorrow the shuttle would deliver me to the ship.  Later, the torch would ignite.  I considered the ancient days of sailing ships and the colonists who rode them.  A twenty-year journey across the sea of night.  The warmth of another star’s light.

“How like them am I?” I wondered.

(93 words)

– – – – –

Critique and general abuse are welcome. Use the comment button and share your thoughts.

44 Responses to “Flash Fiction – 5th Ed.”

  1. Powerful piece. Well done.

  2. Interesting story inspired by a captivating picture.

  3. Twindaddy Says:

    I like it, Rants. You write fiction well.

  4. Restart my ass, you dove right in. “A twenty-year journey across the sea of night. The warmth of another star’s light.” Fuck you for that awesomeness.

  5. Take it from a sic-fi fan, near perfection.
    I was brought back : Heinlein, Silverberg, The Stardust Voyages etc
    Not Asimov though, apart for “Put Knob A in hole B”, he never wrote anything so succinct save limericks.
    Great going, Tay.

  6. I have often wondered what anxieties churned in the stomachs of explorers heading off into the unknown. Great story, BR.

  7. enjoyed reading this so much. very lovely.

  8. Wow! 20 years journey into the Space…, I don’t think I could do it.

  9. This is very good Rants! With so few words you share the vastness of a starlit sky as well as the vastness of space!

  10. Twenty years, no wonder he’s thinking so much. I like that he’s thinking about the stars somewhere else. A reflective piece. It’s like you never left at all, man. Well done!

  11. Dear BR,

    I felt his apprehension. A long journey indeed. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. More please! Loving the ‘Counterpoint … to the stars…’ woah, great stuff!

  13. This is like travelling on many level .. in time, in mind, and potentially away.. yes I like this a lot.

  14. So that’s how it’s supposed to be done! You set a fine example.

  15. BR, I would imagine that every voyager to far places thinks thoughts something like this. You put yourself, and us, into his mind perfectly. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  16. I love this! I can feel his or her anxiety. It takes a brave person to commit to twenty years in space. You didn’t say if it was a man or a woman, and while most seem to think it is a man, I’m picturing a woman. But, I could be wrong.

  17. Dear BrainRants, You are a Science Fiction Writer in my opinion, as good as it can get. Very insightful – I feel like I was there with him or her. So good – excellent writing!
    Nan 🙂

  18. Delightful piece. The fear and magnetism of the unknown well stated.

  19. You are definitely in your wheelhouse here. I loved how you played words off each other, and how each thought foretold the next. Very nicely done, Rants. Heinlein and Asimov are in good company.

  20. I Like this so much, a very poignant piece.

Join the Ranting!

