Fucking Awesome

And I thought I had it bad with my shoulder issue.   No freaking way.  I found this video online through one of the few news sources I tolerate reading.  Watch this, and hopefully you’ll gain an appreciation for what could easily be called, “the easy life.”  Video here:

This young woman is hearing sound for the first time in her life – ever.  To watch this kind of revelation is simply amazing.  It puts the entire scope of my shoulder surgery in a much, much smaller perspective.  Mainly, an irrelevant perspective.

If you’re not moved in some small way by this, well…  try doing without something that’s completely integral to you.  Forever…

Then be rescued.  But keep in mind, this woman essentially had no idea what “rescue” meant.  Until this video.

Being privileged with the common is misleading.  Value every single part of your existence.

27 Responses to “Fucking Awesome”

  1. 1jaded1 Says:

    It is truly amazing what we take for granted. This woman’s life is going to be changed forever. Happy for her (yes, that is emotion).

  2. Look at you being all caring and shit. You on a lot of pain meds?

  3. I stumbled across this one last night. It really is awesome to see her reaction and know what it means. I don’t think I could truly understand, but the enormity of hearing for the first time has got to be overwhelming. I’m happy for her.

  4. Today, for a little while at least, I think I’ll feel good about the world.

    Hope your shoulder is feeling better.

  5. I can relate to this video in a small way! When I was 12 I lost my hearing for a while due to some medical issues with my sinuses & a tonsillectomy done when I was far too young. Part of my tonsils grew back in an odd way (the adenoids), leaving my sinuses completely unable to drain. I don’t know how long I was deaf because I apparently started reading lips as my hearing deteriorated. I was getting in trouble at home a lot & my grades were declining in school before someone noticed what was going on. When I had a hearing test, I had lost more than 90% of my hearing. They were able to fix it surgically & I remember how loud everything seemed when I woke up from that surgery! Just last week, I had another hearing moment – I lost most of the hearing in my right ear for most of the day. I found myself turning my head to the left a lot to hear what was being said. I could feel & sense the loss of hearing very acutely. Went to the docs, but there was no obstruction & hearing came back.

  6. Everyone needs a heaping helping of perspective every now and then.

  7. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    Nice to see the “good” side of technology. (yay for Jo)

  8. I saw that a couple of days ago, it gave me chills. Still does.

  9. This is wonderful.

  10. Reblogged this on joyblisshippielove and commented:
    So beautiful

Join the Ranting!

