Good Grief, What’s Up?

Well, I’ve survived the epic snow dump thus far,  my only damage (if one could call it that) some lower back discomfort from the shovel work I did for MamaRants to clear the walk and driveway.  I find it amusing that these big storms make so much news.  I mean really – weather happens, people.  This wasn’t like the huge storm last year or some named hurricane.

I have to wonder what the fuck all y’all have been up to while I’m gone.  Some of the stuff I see makes me wonder.

Oscars.  Who gives a fuck, really?  Why, I wonder, do we find such fascination with an event where a self-appointed board hands out awards to people to make a living pretending to be other people and get paid way too much money to do so.  In their free time, they spout oddball political rants and interbreed.  Yikes, it sounds like a Utah polygamist cult.

Kardashians.  Like fascination with actors, I cannot see why we feel compelled to keep providing this little attention whore a forum that supports her “lifestyle.”  At least she’s come full-circle, somewhat.  I see she’s having a baby now, and with a rapper.  Why am I not surprised?  Perhaps the three sisters can sit around comparing stretch marks while their mother arranges expensive corrective plastic surgery.  My heart bleeds for Bruce Jenner.

Olympians.  Why are we having to follow Oscar Pistorius’ ongoing drama?  Sure there’s a connection to the OJ trial – our sick fascination with famous people’s misdeeds.  I think people are pissed because they’ve been shown their hero is human.  I find it odd that we can spark a massive gun-ownership debate over a school shooting but this one has sparked not one word about gun control.  Guess if shit happens in Africa, it doesn’t fucking matter, right?

Sequester.  My god, did we actually allow these amateurs to be in charge of the whole fucking country?  Or are we simply addicted to the MSM spew of shit that hinges on crisis followed by crisis, and politicians are merely using that to put off work we’re fucking paying them to not do.  Meanwhile, no matter what side of the aisle you favor, we – the little guys – will again take it in the pants because some no-direction, eleventh-hour, more-expensive deal is sure to come.  You cannot spend your way out of debt, people.

Sometimes I wonder if coming back home is worth it.

 

39 Responses to “Good Grief, What’s Up?”

  1. Thank you Rants. I was just thinking most of these thoughts – especially about the Oscars and Olympians – over the past couple of days. I’m perpetually perplexed about the fascination with Kardashians and continually fed up with the leadership on both sides of the aisle…we are all screwed.

    I’m hoping that there is something that makes you feel coming back home is worthwhile, though.

  2. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    (I TOLD you there was an ice storm coming!)
    I really don’t watch t.v anymore – I just think it basically sucks…you couldn’t pay me to watch a Kardashian show or a Honey Boo Boo (if you don’t know who that is – don’t ask – you will weep and vomit at the same time)
    Great rant as always!

  3. Some things/people never change. The “ugly American,” sometimes, is even uglier at home. Grateful for your perspective – everyone should have to do what you do abroad. The American brewing companies have missed you. And so have we.

  4. Don’t you BLASPHEME my Oscar’s. It’s my favorite day of the year!!! I am making Argo Fuck Yourself margaritas!!! And I agree with you about Bruce Jenner…poor sad soul

  5. Bandwidth! Oh wait, that’s why we feel your coming home is worth it. That, and the fact your butt is safe to take advantage of it.

  6. I agree with you on all of these points Rants! I watched about 1/2 an hour of a news type show the other night on Pistorius, but only because I wanted to see what everyone was talking about. “Just the facts ma’am, just the facts.” Do you remember that?
    I do still watch TV but only on DVR so I can skip all the crap about the reality shows. I only watch dramas like CSI, NCIS, The Good Wife, Grey’s Anatomy, etc. The only reality type shows I watch are Highway Thru Hell & Canadian Football. I wouldn’t give you 2 cents for a Kardashian or Honey Boo Boo.
    Beer & bandwidth are good reasons to come back to North America! Also poop free air to breathe! Lots of us would miss you too!

  7. Gotta agree with ya all ’round. Though my favourite thing to hate is some stupid show called “Amish Mafia”. The thought of the Amish doing ANYTHING even remotely “mafia-ish” is hilarious in itself. Then my wife found out one of the guys she used to drive from our Amish community is on the show! When my wife asked him what was up with the show, and what the heck it was all about, he grinned hugely and said “Well, I haven’t had to work on a farm all year!”. If the folks ON the show are willing to admit it’s BS that only serves to pay the bills, well, …. 😀
    (And please don’t get me started on military funding via “continuing resolution”. I’d hate to take up ALL your bandwidth.)
    Glad to hear we got a little honest work out of ya, even if it WAS just snow shoveling. Better than paying our hard earned taxes to have you polish a chair seat back in the sandbox! 😉

  8. Sometimes I have to take a few days break from watching the “news” (I use the term loosely) because it gets me all irritated and grouchy that these banalities are considered news-worthy, interesting, and exciting. What a world, what a world!

  9. The loons are running things – it drives me crazy to watch (news or TV), but too afraid to disengage completely. But beer, yeah, helps

  10. Across the board “yep of agreement”.
    Though it’s sad to me that in my mind, Congress and Kardashian are the same level of “good lord, WHY?!?” in my head.

  11. I had a comment here that was awesome but my computer independently deleted the damned thing! I was saying, it’s nice to see that we (The nation of Canadia) is not the only human population horrified by all of the above. Especially this Honey Boo Boo who, by the way, should be taken into protective custody and deprogrammed before it’s too late. There. That’s what I said…

  12. I agree with everything, though I don’t feel sorry for Bruce Jenner. Holy cow, look what he let them do to his face!
    As far as Washington, they are ALL morons…both the Legislative and the Executive types. The first thing that should be cut is their paychecks and benefits!!!

  13. What I simply cannot fathom is, How any of these twits and twerps (see your WholeDamnList, with the *possible* exception of the Oscars, in concept if not in practice) got past the ‘smoke-filled room’ stage? (Oh – that’s right, we’re no longer allowed to have those kind of meeting-of-the-minds meetings! Because “I don’t like it, thou shalt not”,don’chyaknow?)

    Most days, beer doesn’t even help – I’ve given up watching 97% of the garbage they try to pass off as either “news” OR “entertainment” these days. The Weather Channel even has too much artificially-induced drama for my taste, anymore!

    Whew! I feel better now – thanks for the vent-space, Rants! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Join the Ranting!

