Thoughts On Today

Y’all know I’d come up with something today, though in reality I did this a day or so ago and set this up to post today.  I was able, on my limited bandwidth here, to pull up my last year’s post about 9/11, and I’m still shaking my head at the well-meant but saccharine douchiness yours truly managed to spew.  Maybe you liked it.  Maybe it was good in all reality.  Today it just reeks of used man-pon.

On this 9/11, I guess I’m just pissed, and not because I’m over here in the country of 9/11’s origin.  It’s not about the country, it’s about the people who were in power at the time.  So today it’s just where I happen to be.

What has me pissed is my perception (an important qualifier) that after only 11 years, it’s a box on a calendar.  It’s a phrase used to justify something.  Or a great seconds-long plug between commercials that makes you feel favorably toward the network. Or the politician mouthing the words…

…something to argue about when we’re figuring out whether it’s worth the cost of maintaining an important fight against an enemy who has not given up the fight at all.

Forgive me my anger and cynicism.  It’s difficult to maintain a balanced point of view when a nutbag wearing an explosive vest, apparently a child himself, managed to get close to us over here – but not close enough – and instead blew up six little Afghan kids who were trying to help their fathers earn money after school.  That apparently is success for them since they admitted to the the attack.  I cannot fathom the sickness that drives someone to believe that anything good can come of that.

Reuters article here.

BBC press here.

Is it worth it all now?

———–
Credit to my minion, J.J., for the links. He rants nearly as well as I do.

32 Responses to “Thoughts On Today”

  1. You’ve said what a lot of us have been thinking for a long time. Thank you!

  2. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    When you write about something that is close to your heart, it is always exceptionally good. I would hope there are many people who do not view this date as just a box on a calendar (I understand your point behind stating it that way). Today, I’m just humbled by your pissed-off-ness.

  3. Wow. There’s a reality check for you. I don’t know if it’s true, but I heard that only the young and impressionable blow themselves up, while the older and wiser sit back and let them. Disgusting. Be safe!

  4. No saccharin, no BS, just plain straight truth here, my friend. And too much of it has evaporated from the collective conscience. We’re not a nation at war to most people, we just have a nasty little entanglement overseas – despite the huge sacrifice of a tiny percentage of the population, you and your family VERY much included.
    I wonder how a time traveler from the future would assess the US, in 2001 and in 2012, and on the inconceivable changes that have occurred. When the country stood united in 2001, military and civilian alike mourning, and most of the world standing by us in shared loss of citizens. And today, with a fractious world and a vitriolic campaign in progress.
    How short our memory has grown…

  5. I hate that 9 11 has been reduced to a date on a calendar where once a year we remember the huge sacrifice some people have made or are making to ensure our freedom. How do we fight against an enemy that has no compunction about using children & women against us. Do we have to give up every good instinct we have to protect women & children in order to be safe? Thank you for your continued support of my freedom.

  6. Turning this memorial day into a justification for further atrocities and an easy answer to mayhem cheapens the loss. I don’t blame you for being angry, I am too. Glad you put this out there, your passion is catching.

  7. yes… amen (゚O゚)\(- -;)

  8. It’s not just a date on the calendar man, trust me, in another part of the world where 9 11 isn’t used by politicians to wring out public sentiment and where people have their own horrific dealings with terorrist twats, they understand. Everyone does.

  9. I still respect the hell out of you LC. Thank you!

  10. In case you hadn’t heard, large helpings of John Erickson are now being served at http://www.windycitywonderer.wordpress.com

Join the Ranting!

