Loss

I wanted to sneak in  here and get some bandwidth while I can over here to post a brief memorial for Neil Armstrong.  I saw notice of his death in the news.  This post, by necessity scheduled for later, will be late coming but no less heartfelt.

I for one mourn the loss of this American.  I don’t have to regurgitate his biography; you all can do that yourselves, and honestly you ought to.  I believe that someday, history will continue to mark July 20th, 1969 as a pivotal moment in the history not of the United States, but rather all of humanity.  Mr. Armstrong was the first in what will become a long line of humans to walk on other worlds.

Longtime followers may recall a half-inebriated post or two of mine last year detailing my application – even at my age – to the Army Astronaut Program.  All of the snark aside, I was entirely serious and willing to become an astronaut.  In truth, I have since I was about four years old.  In spite of the obstacles, I still would.

Men such as Neil Armstrong were and are the inspiration to me and many others.  We should remember them well.

21 Responses to “Loss”

  1. Amen, brother.

  2. Well said . I don’t know about you(to do with age) but the guy was all over our textbooks.

  3. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    Definitely a great loss. He was a role model and hero.

  4. I see him cruising around Mars on Curiosity like one of the Space Cowboys. 🙂

    Maybe Space-X has spots for us still-aspiring astronauts? Me, I made a Freedom 7 capsule out of the box the new fridge came in.

  5. Actually, the moon landings were made a pivotal part of history on a large Internet sci-fi work called Orion’s Arm. (www.orionsarm.com)
    Their calendar starts at 0 A.T, for After Tranquility, and the start of each year (July 20, our calendar) is called Armstrong Day.
    Let’s hope that our actual future follows suit – and not that Neil Armstrong’s death marked the beginning of the end for manned space exploration.
    Godspeed, Neil.

  6. On the next clear night with a full moon, I will make sure to walk outside thinking of Neil Armstrong and give him a wink.

  7. Definitely a great loss in the passing of Neil Armstrong… and your willingness speaks volumes… take care.

  8. A quiet man – an explorer with the same courage and sense of adventure as those who sailed ancient ships to settle wild lands. Hopefully some spark will continue and let some follow in his path. Private companies will push onward. They must.
    Nice post.

  9. Amen, Rants.
    He proved even the wildest dreams could come true.

Join the Ranting!

