For Consideration

I received the following message through the military email system recently.  I think there’s a lot of truth in this note. I am not putting this up to rub anyone’s nose in our sacrifice, because honestly that’s not what I’m about. I think, perhaps, it’s worth reading as a not-so-gentle reminder of what we all ought to keep in mind.

I’ve had the experience of posting similar sentiments here only to have one or two more liberal minded readers let me know in no uncertain terms that I was currently located very far up my own ass and required an emergency extraction. To those couple of readers, who rest firmly every night among the 99.55% I say this: okay, motherfucker.

There’s also a lot of press lately about our three big service academies and the misguided things Cadets (and Midshipmen) have done. Leave it to the Lame Stream Media to suck the awesome out of a system that has produced the kind of men with the stones like GEN (R) Petraeus who will boldly state what we all need to hear. It makes me proud to be part of the .45% and a Graduate. I didn’t bother Snopes-ing this because it’s true no matter who says it.

The article:

Thanks to my fellow veterans:

 I remember the day I found out I got into West Point. My mom actually showed up in the hallway of my high school and waited for me to get out of class. She was bawling her eyes out and apologizing that she had opened up my admission letter. She wasn’t crying because it had been her dream for me to go there. She was crying because she knew how hard I’d worked to get in, how much I wanted to attend, and how much I wanted to be an infantry officer. I was going to get that opportunity. That same day two of my teachers took me aside and essentially told me The following:

 “David, you’re a smart guy. You don’t have to join the military. You should go to college, instead.”

I could easily write a theme defending West Point and the military as I did that day, explaining that USMA is an elite institution, that separate from that it is actually statistically much harder to enlist in the military than it is to get admitted to college, that serving the nation is a challenge that all able-bodied men should at least consider for a host of reasons, but I won’t. What I will say is that when a 16 year-old kid is being told that attending West Point is going to be bad for his future then there is a dangerous disconnect in America, and entirely too many Americans have no idea what kind of burdens our military is bearing.

 In World War II, 11.2% of the nation served in four (4) years. During the Vietnam era, 4.3% served in twelve (12) years. Since 2001, only 0.45% of our population has served in the Global War on Terror. These are unbelievable statistics. Overtime, fewer and fewer people have shouldered more and more of the burden and it is only getting worse. Our troops were sent to war in Iraq by a Congress consisting of 10% veterans with only one person having a child in the military. Taxes did not increase to pay for the war. War bonds were not sold. Gas was not regulated. In fact, the average citizen was asked to sacrifice nothing, and has sacrificed nothing unless they have chosen to out of the goodness of their hearts. The only people who have sacrificed are the veterans and their families. The volunteers. The people who swore an oath to defend this nation.

 You stand there, deployment after deployment and fight on. You’ve lost relationships, spent years of your lives in extreme conditions, years apart from kids you’ll never get back, and beaten your body in a way that even professional athletes don’t understand. Then you come home to a nation that doesn’t understand. They don’t understand suffering. They don’t understand sacrifice. They don’t understand why we fight for them. They don’t understand that bad people exist. They look at you like you’re a machine – like something is wrong with you. You are the misguided one – not them.

 When you get out, you sit in the college classrooms with political science teachers that discount your opinions on Iraq and Afghanistan because YOU WERE THERE and can’t understand the macro issues they gathered from books, because of your bias. You watch TV shows where every vet has PTSD and the violent strain at that. Your Congress is debating your benefits, your retirement, and your pay, while they ask you to do more. But the amazing thing about you is that you all know this. You know your country will never pay back what you’ve given up.

You know that the populace at large will never truly understand or appreciate what you have done for them. Hell, you know that in some circles, you will be thought as less than normal for having worn the uniform. Just that decision alone makes you part of an elite group. “Never in the field of human conflict has so much been owed by so many to so few.”

-Winston Churchill- Thank you to the 11.2% and 4.3% who have served and thanks to the 0.45% who continue to serve our Nation.

 General David Petraeus West Point Class 1974

Someone needs to make THIS guy our President.

 

97 Responses to “For Consideration”

  1. I cannot fathom the crap that anyone in the military has been through… those that go to fight the wars, and even those who battle through boot camp and stay stateside to become hard working proud teachers, medical staff, mechanics (my little brother) and the list goes on.
    I wish I could contribute more than my prayers, and the “Cup of Joe” coffee I donate every other month…. It humbles me to be an American and sleep under the blanket of freedom that you and all the other military provide us.
    Wow. 0.45%… that is mind blowing.
    God Bless You All.

  2. JanCorey Says:

    They willingly volunteer for the military and get paid far too much for what they do, imo. My task as President would be to bring 100% of all our troops stationed overseas home immediately and then utilize their functions as border-control for our exterior-perimeters, then eliminate all of this wasteful spending out to the PTSD-recipients because that has just gone wayyyyyy to much out of control. most of it is total and complete fraud. If soldiers are deployable, then keep them in and provide mental health services for a short period of time like a maximum of six months. If they are not deployable, terminate them from service and have them fill out welfare applications like regular folks have to do. There should be no additional benefit to people that chose military over college-degrees and us tax-payers should not be paying these folks one fuxxing cent for their own poor choices in life.

    • Shimoniac Says:

      The military risk their lives to guarantee your right to be ignorant.
      Do you think that police, fire fighters, and ambulance paramedics are grossly overpaid? If you do, then I feel sorry for you. If you don’t, then why are you shitting on those people courageous and patriotic enough to volunteer.
      With your ignorant, arrogant xenophobia, you are one of the reasons that America went from number one superpower to its current financial doldrums.
      Furthermore Gen (R) Petraeus didn’t choose the military rather than a degree, he earned him a degree at the USMA. Have someone Wiki it for you so they can explain it to you
      I’d take your post point-by-point and show you how wrong you are, but I’ve already wasted enough time on you. Besides this isn’t my blog.
      Rock on Rants. Come back safe, probably too late for sane.

      • Yikes. I’ll come home in some kind of condition, that much is certain.

      • JanCorey Says:

        They all volunteer, means nothing to me, they go into the military because they can’t find a job or handle being better-educated and that’s their cheapest option to earn any money. If I was president, I would use the some of our force as border control and save a few special units and a few jets, all else would go. We have nukes, just no point to waste the money when they squander so much of our tax-payers dollars.

        • Okay, dude. At this point I’m just going to assume you’re intentionally poking the bear.

          • JanCorey Says:

            I do not want to poke fun of or make anyone angry for stating things I have personally seen happen to people in the military. If I offended anyone for stating what I have witnessed first-hand, I am sorry.

    • I’d disagree with some of this, but you’re fully entitled to your opinion. Thanks for the reply.

  3. I don’t even pretend to imagine what it’s like being where you are, other than a little dusty. I told my son, whenever we see a soldier, he should walk up to him and say thank you. He is super shy so he hasn’t done it yet, but I planted the seed.

    This is a good letter. Despite your gruff exterior, I know you are a good man too! 🙂

  4. Great reminder on the people who willingly serve and sacrifice. You are also correct in saying that little understanding is out there for veterans of this generation. We really have to support each other. While the number of people willing to serve diminish, let us pray that our nation will continue to have solid leaders in the military.

  5. As a Canadian, I know that you, individually and collectively, are holding an umbrella of peace and freedom over me and mine. I thank you for that, and respect the sacrifices you’ve made to do so. Screw the expendable-drone, corporate-think of those like Corey. A liberal is only a conservative who hasn’t been mugged yet. You and the rest of the .45% are there to ensure that doesn’t happen, but they’re too narrow-minded to see that. *Salute*

  6. What an awesome essay! Thanks for sharing it Rants. Even though there are plenty who are completely ignorant (and many who apparently choose to stay that way) to why what you guys do is important, I hope you know there are those of us who do “get it” and genuinely appreciate the fact that there are men and women who are willing to step up and do the job. I know I couldn’t … but I contribute in my own way.

  7. I had heard that General Petraeus had called publicly for a return to the draft, and this message seems to support why he feels that way. I recall thinking at the time how unrealistic that was. As a USNA graduate and a retired career naval officer I thoroughly understand his sentiments, but they are misguided and misleading. The problem is that the nature of war has changed, and unless some horrible catastrophe occurs, as from weapons of mass destruction, it will never be the same again.

    War had begun to change as a result of World War I when the horrors of mass slaughter were brought to reality by the press. New weapons made killing efficient: the machine gun, the tank, poison gas, the U-boat. As a result, a majority of the U.S. population had become isolationist in their politics. And then came Pearl Harbor, a deadly attack on U.S. citizens on U.S. soil. This reality was the national motivation to military service, and it was the reality both of fear and of a national (tribal) determination to fight back. Since that time however, war-fighting has become steadily more technological and steadily less personnel-intensive. Cannon fodder is no longer required and today’s military is more a band of mercenaries than anything else. The military is no longer merely a mechanism of “defense”, it is a political tool.

    Yes, military service is still wrapped in an attitude of patriotism, and that patriotism is still strongly motivating during and after training. But, I submit that patriotism is not a primary motivating factor in today’s recruiting, neither enlisted nor officer. I believe military service, like the service of police and firemen, is revered by the public, but from a distance. That helps, but the primary motivations are good pay and benefits and a sense of adventure. And when the hardships of armed conflict and extended family separation come, it is not as though those realities were anticipated from the beginning. They fight because they must, and for their comrades beside them. They do what they must, and it has always been so. Hence, a high suicide rate and a high PTSD rate. War in 1941 was fought out of visceral fear and anger, and it was short term. War in 2012 is fought out of political planning, and it is looking like the Forever War. Petraeus is trying to recall the past, but the past is gone.

    • I tend to think the military has always been a political tool. I have not heard his call for a draft, but I’d have to take exception to that one as well. Great and insightful comments, considering you’re a Squid. I can always count on a post-within-a-post from you, Joe.

      Beat Navy!

  8. I have my opinions…I have family in the military…ROCK THE FUCK ON, RANTS! There…I’m done.

  9. Thanks for this post.
    Life is so easy here in the states. People who have not traveled/lived abroad do not see/understand what the rest of the world is like – and how what we have here is so precious. (simply reading about it does not give the experience and understanding)
    I wish military experience was a requirement for the office of president – having faced combat would give a different perspective.
    There is so much that could be gained if everyone had to serve at least a year in service to the country or military: there’s plenty that could be done by those who do not wish to carry weapons. But that won’t happen because life is so easy here – and people don’t wish to see reality or be inconvenienced.
    All lot of us don’t buy into the blah, blah, blah from the snug, and smug..
    We know what you do – and the sacrifice of your families.
    “Thanks” seems so weak
    Stay safe

  10. Blood well said indeed. I’ve said it before, Rants, and I’ll say it again: respect.

  11. You know how I feel, pal, and just like you, I support Jan Corey’s right to say anything, no matter how stupid or ill-informed it might be. And I, too, was STRONGLY steered from the service because I was too smart, and would be too successful outside the military.
    That’s why I made a miniscule down-payment of penance when I was re-enacting, and it’s why I make tiny payments of penance keeping the needs of our vets in the public eye. I hope, one day far in the future, to reach a tenth of what I owe all of you in uniform.
    If I live that long… 😉

    • I am one of the 0.45% that served. Just because Corey has a right to say something doesn’t mean I have to listen to it, especially when it is so wrong.

      It wasn’t Petraeus, it was guy named Nick Palmisciano. Still doesn’t change the fact he should run for President. http://www.snopes.com/politics/soapbox/045percent.asp

      • I’d prefer not to listen to it either, byrdmouse. It’s the same kind of narrow-minded thought (or lack thereof) that allowed Pearl Harbor to happen. But Corey does have the right to say it, even if we’d both prefer Corey did it elsewhere.
        And thank you, byrdmouse, for your service. Might I ask what branch and time period? (That’s just for my own curiosity. I don’t care when, where, or how you served – you served, and for that I can never thank you enough.)

        • I agree that Corey has the right to say it, and he can say it as loudly as he wants, as long as he doesn’t expect me to pay attention to it. I think I’d generally agree with you about Pearl Harbor, too. It would be both a joyous occasion and a nightmare if all the troops came home. Joyous because they’d be here, nightmare because all hell would break loose elsewhere. Protecting our borders are important, but the enemies they protect us from where they’re protecting us now are much more important than illegal immigrants.

          My own idea is to count the illegals coming accross the border, then load a plane full of criminals serving 25 years to life and drop them off in the capital city of the country the illegals came from with instructions to never step foot in the US again or face re-incarceration. Within 6 months our bordering countries would be patrolling the border so we don’t have to, PLUS we’d solve a little overcrowding issue.

          As for when, I served in the Army between the Gulf Wars and am embarrassed to say that I’m a Disabled Vet even though I never got a chance to deploy. I’m proud that I was there and would do it again in a heartbeat even though medically I wouldn’t be able to. For the last two and a half years I’ve been working for the Corps of Engineers and this is a way that I can serve both the warfighter and my country even with my ailment. You can easily thank me enough for my service, but there are others more deserving–like the host of this blog.

          • I love your idea about the criminals – truly inspired! I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been disabled, but I would say you don’t have to be embarrassed about anything. And thank you for taking the time to write back. I swung by your blog, and dropped you an Email – respond as you see fit.
            And thank you, to BOTH you and ‘Rants, for your service. (He keeps telling me I don’t have to, but I’m gonna keep doing so anyway! 🙂 )

          • My disability isn’t one that is seen unless you notice when it flares up and I start limping or otherwise avoiding the use of my feet for walking.

            I thank Rants for his service and his blog. I often find myself remembering things about my time in the Army from his posts. I smile and laugh along in the non-funny manner of someone who has felt a similar pain.

          • I so understand “Laugh in a non-funny manner.”

          • Don’t discount your contribution. Thanks for YOUR service.

  12. JanCorey Says:

    Can I add, that most military people that enlist are nothing more than kids, and who doesn’t remember (being older) as a kid feeling invincible and death was not a reality, only a foregone conclusion that would never soon occur to them because kids that age fell invincible. I just hate the military recruiters who feed on that ignorance of the potential newer soldiers.

    • Very true. I don’t like that either. I went in with my eyes wide open, heard some of the stuff the recruiter told me and knew it was a line. After he realized I wasn’t buying the crap and started talking more honestly to me. Like you, I hate the recruiters who feed on ignorance as well.

    • You have to recruit somewhere. Not sure there’s a better way to do it.

      • JanCorey Says:

        Maybe the prison system.

        • No: garbage in, garbage out. Soldiers have to be high-quality to do what we do these days.

          • Sorry, dude ~ Just because someone did ‘something’ that ran afoul of *one* law, doesn’t automatically mean they’re complete garbage, Rants. Some of the smartest, most creative and most determined folks in the country are in prison for the “crimes” of being in the wrong place at the wrong time, or having a lousy lawyer, or ‘taking the fall’ for friends…
            Using the broad brush of GIGO on everybody who’s been convicted of anything is as short-sighted as saying that the military is always the worst possible choice of ‘next step’ in life…

            Just saying –

          • Your argument is predicated on the assumption that our prisons are full of first-time offenders. You appear to also imply that the law broken in question was insignificant.

  13. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    Great post, Rants. I am very, very thankful there are people like you in this world.

  14. JanCorey Says:

    I truly respect our military for what they do. But, I have never personally witnessed so much corruption and milking-of-the-system as utilized by our vets, especially under a classification of being disabled or PTSD. As a tax-payer, it makes me sick to see what so many vets are doing to extort our money so flagrantly and so much with a feeling that they deserve our money for non-combat related services. I saw it first-hand and now have feelings that are much more on line with seeing their utilization of our tax-dollars and their extorting our tax-payers for what it truly is; fraud!

    • PTSD is real, JanCorey. I tell you that because I experience it myself. It derives from high stress, and the stressors can include not just combat but family separation, competition for uncertain promotion in a highly competitive and dangerous environment, culture shock of foreign deployment, physical stress, uncertainty of terrorist suicide attacks, and simply seeing more than normal human poverty, death and disease than a normal person does. In my own case I have never been so diagnosed, but I assure you I have it – the nightmares are becoming more frequent with age. (I have been retired for 31 years now.)

      A Time Magazine cover story recently documented that with the Forever War continuing in Afghanistan the suicide rate in the U.S. Army has become higher than the number of combat casualties. Repeated deployments with no end in sight are a big factor. Even WW II lasted only 4 years – the medical experts are finding that we are breaking new ground in discovering human limits – the hard way.

      Your accusation of fraud is offensive to me. What is your evidence of that?

    • Even if what you claim is partly true, there are bigger and more wasteful government hand-out programs out there to attack. Don’t forget: you’re bitching about a fraction of .45% here…

  15. JanCorey Says:

    PTSD is not real imo, it’s simply the newest fad for vets to get money they don’t deserve. I see that happening first-hand every single day and it urks me to see it continue. As far as evidence, I have toms of it. Is there a contact to report it to?

    • Anonymous Says:

      I’ve seen vets who had PTSD and had reactions to doing everyday things. I haven’t seen any vets get money for having it.
      There may be some faking the funk as there is in any government handout system but just like I wouldn’t throw out food stamps, welfare, or Medicaid for malingerers I wouldn’t throw out the diagnosis of PTSD either.

      • JanCorey Says:

        You have seen zero vets with PTSD imo. What you saw was a game for those claiming PTSD, never existed to all the millions and millions of soldiers throughout the world only until they created a means to compensate soldiers for things they should have covered all along but chose not to because of financial reasons. I have seen this first-hand and the abuse is rampid and I hope all vets doing this scam spend the rest of their lives under court-order confinement or restrictions. Ohh, just today, I witnessed even more fraud of this system by vets. Does that matter to anyone anymore? Does to me as a tax-payer!

        • I’d like to ask where you are seeing all this alleged fraud, JanCorey. Is it at the VA, or an insurance company, or where? I have severe problems believing that EVERY case of PTSD is fake, as you suggest, and it is hard to take your comments as anything but ill-informed opinion without some proofs, or at least some idea where your information comes from. I’d appreciate knowing your sources, so if your stories are true, we can try to eliminate the fraud you claim to be witnessing.

          • JanCorey Says:

            Mr. Erickson, my perspective of information comes first-hand. I see this fraud first-hand from a number of vets who receive our tax-dollars for things they should not, imo. Most are claiming PTSD, which is a total fraud to me as this is just a name the military devised to use tax-payers dollars to address an issue that is non-existent in the real world, except for a few who are legitimately traumatized through events out of their control. Even for a legitimate claim from the private sector, they get “treatment” for a limited period pf time. I know of vets who have a projected life-long income coming in from the military when this “affliction” is poppy-cock imo. I believe we need to build more prisons and to go after these vets and fill up the cells. Fraud is their life-style and a prison sentence will be our only recourse as a tax-payer imo.

        • Anonymous Says:

          The guys I saw with PTSD were not getting compensated for having PTSD. They weren’t pulling some elaborate hoax to get money. They weren’t on the government teat for anything. PTSD isn’t a new fad because I saw firsthand vets with it 15 years ago.
          Now I did see at least one soldier who was just plain milking the system. He complained about his shoulder and would bend his elbow to “relieve the pain” before he would go into a coughing fit claiming to have Gulf War Syndrome. He disgusted me then, he disgusts me now. He was the minority and I wouldn’t for one second discount PTSD or Gulf War Syndrome just because of that one guy. Is there fraud? Undoubtably, you may have even seen more of it then I have. It is disgraceful that someone would do that, especially because the perception that it is a larger, wider problem then it is.

          • JanCorey Says:

            Anom, I still believe it is a fad, all relatively new to the world of the military. If I knew enough facts about anyone you personally know who is receiving money for PTSD, I’ll bet I can punch holes in their claims and show you just how fraudulent those claims may be. I still respect the military as a whole, I just think the bulk of the PTSD-recipients have leaned what they have to say and do to get money and they are not actually affected as they claim and they all deserve a prison cell imo.

          • Food for thought: you complain about a subset of .45% of the population wasting your valuable tax dollars yet ignore Social Security and a wide array of other hand-out programs, ponzis and pogroms that clearly involve sums of those revenues you cite that far exceed anything being “handed out” to or “scammed” by our veterans. I would say you’re mis-prioritized here. But that’s probably just my PTSD talking.

          • JanCorey Says:

            BR, I didn’t ignore anything, just saying what some of the fraud I personally see on a constant basis from people they call themselves vets. I used to envy vets, but that’s before I witnessed just so many of them manipulating our tax dollars and scamming our money.

  16. Y’all just need to stop feeding the trolls …

  17. JanCorey Says:

    BR, I am still pro-military and will continue as such no matter how much more corruption and theft of tax-payers dollars I continue to witness, I just wish the military was better able to manage these falsehoods being perpetrated by the lower end of the mass of troops. PTSD was non-existent only until a few years ago and is well documented as demonstrated by all countries of all the world over the entire existence of mankind, it is a total and complete scam on us tax-payers, unfortunately, at least for now.

    • No, you just cannot let it go. Those damn vets. Scamming money. It’s okay there are far more people scamming far larger piles of tax dollars – gotta fix that damn pesky vet problem.

      Being pro-military but anti-vet is like being pro-sex but anti-pregnancy. You’re a perfect example of what this article is about.

      • JanCorey Says:

        I am not anti-vet BR as you claim, I simply do not like the fraud committed by the vets claiming a non-existent mental illness according to what the military says PTSD is. Eliminate the money for PTSD, not the treatment of PTSD, and the claims of PTSD will disappear.

    • PTSD is just the latest acronym for a condition that has been recognized for centuries –
      I quote:
      “References in writings dating back to the period before Christ can be found that reflect an understanding that trauma can affect an individual for years and years after the trauma has ended.

      “During the American Civil War what is now PTSD was referred to as “battle fatigue.” In the First World War it was known as “shell shock.” By the Second World War, soldiers who experienced symptoms of PTSD were judged as being weak. PTSD in that war was known as “combat neurosis,” or “traumatic neurosis” – names that reflect the stigma.

      “Read more at Suite101: Battle Fatigue and PTSD Diagnosis in the DSM-IV: A History of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder in the DSM | Suite101.com http://suite101.com/article/battle-fatigue-and-ptsd-diagnosis-in-the-dsmiv-a134462#ixzz23XIOdnQt

      “Trauma” can also result from long-term relatively low-level stresses, it’s not exclusively caused by acute situations.

      • JanCorey Says:

        Karen, like I said that you still don’t seem to understand is treat all those claiming they need treatment of PTSD BUT eliminate the money in their pockets just for claiming to have PTSD, even the military has proven most claims are money-based and not actual. Do that, and the illness will disappear all on it’s own. It’s amazing how that happens when the financial gains are eliminated. Treat the illness, eliminate the profits from the claims. Simple stuff.

        • And also ignore the veterans who have PTSD that aren’t taking money because that weakens his argument.

          In a similar vein, if we eliminate unemployment compensation the unemployment numbers will go up. After all, that’s a system that’s abused so if we eliminate funding for it people will stop claiming to be unemployed, right?

          • JanCorey Says:

            There is far too much fraud for it to having any lasting impact of improving the lives of vets and as a tax-payer who the military gets full funding from tax-payers, this whole PTSD thing needs to be scrapped immediately and stop wasting our money. Treat the soldiers for any claim of PTSD for a short period and eliminate any and all cash in their pockets and this whole topic will soon just evaporate.

          • And without treatment they’ll all be up in the tower with me and my bag of cheese sandwiches and high-powered rifle…

          • JanCorey Says:

            That, BrainRants, the system is set up to deal with. To demand tax-payers to fund their alleged mental illness is a crime in and of itself, imo. We pay for defense, not alleged abuses of tax-payers dollars which the PTSD has proven to be super-plagued with fraud.

          • No, because if the “rehabilitating” criminal then perpetrates another crime while in uniform, upon a host-nation citizen, you’ve just taken a US-internal problem and made it international as well as diplomatically damaging and embarrassing. Ripples in the pond.

            If you want quality, pay for quality.

          • JanCorey Says:

            Like I’ve said, treat the illness if it is actually there and eliminate the cash in pockets and the illness will correct itself very quickly. I suspect a real legitimate patient wants treatment, not cash, and this military-welfare has gone on way too long imo.

          • Hold on, I’m looking for the part of the Constitution that covers welfare…

  18. @ JanCorey and all,

    PTSD has a Wikipedia page that throws considerable light on the subject, including its history. Back in the World Wars it was referred to “shell shock” or “battle fatigue”, but it was real even then.

    The problem is that PTSD is hard to define and even harder to treat. There’s no blood test for it, it’s psychological, so the diagnosis is subjective. However, the Wiki article does state that psychiatrists have devised structured tests for it and in reading those descriptions I have confidence that they can detect at least most malingering. I found it interesting that there is evidence that susceptibility to PTSD is hereditary, and a lot of biochemical evidence is cited for that. There is also evidence of PTSD observed in elephants. I doubt the elephants were malingering.

    I will reassert for the record that I personally experience some of the symptoms of PTSD, i.e., nightmares, and I challenge JanCorey to read the Wiki article and tell us where it is wrong. Also, I would like to know if her (I assume, from the picture) opinions on the subject derive from some professional basis or is merely subjective. If the latter, then I submit that she will not convince many on this blog string. Then finally, address the apparent association of PTSD statistics relative to the spike in military suicides in the recent wars.

    Finally, this for consideration. The shooter in the recent mass shooting at the Sikh temple in Wisconsin was done by an Army veteran who had a “checkered” career. However, his mother said he was a normal kid in every way growing up, boy scouts, decent grades and all, but that his Army experience had apparently changed him fundamentally. It wouldn’t surprise me to find some PTSD in the mix. Just food for thought.

    • Jim, thanks. That’s very helpful.

    • JanCorey Says:

      Not going to waste my time with junk science Jim, PTSD has already been proven to be junk-science. Fact is the military has already reduced the financial benefits to many thousands of soldiers receiving the maximum financial benefit from PTSD-payments which will save us tax-payers millions of dollars this year alone and they are expecting thousands more soldiers to be cut or reduced soon, at least according to the military (if you can actually believe what they say).

      • You’re losing credibility fast, JanCorey. Cite your evidence that it’s junk science. Tell us your professional bona fides. You don’t have to reveal your whereabouts or your identity to do so. Time to put up or, well, you know.

        • JanCorey Says:

          I have all the credibility I need with the actual evidence I have, Jim, so your denial of the facts just fell short, sorry. Citing is what I have, taped discussions with military personnel, staff, and written documentation is enough for me. You can still continue to deny that many vets are scamming us tax-payers and if you want to deny it you are most welcome for that position, I just chose the remain factual. I see you still did not provide a link to report the scams either. Interesting. Have a great day Jim and thanks for your comments.

          • @ Jancorey

            Here is the link to the DOD Fraud and Abuse website. It has complete instructions for submitting information in writing:

            http://www.dodig.mil/HOTLINE/submit_complaint.htm

          • JanCorey Says:

            I took a quick look at it Jim and found there to be no direct way to make them aware of any of what I previously mentioned. They do cover some great topics on other issues though. I’ll check back with them to see if they add any updates to advise them that so many vets are scamming us tax-payers. Thanks again Jim.

  19. JanCorey Says:

    Like I said before, treat the soldiers if they need treatment, but eliminate the cash into their pockets and the PTSD-phenomenon will soon disappear; it’s military-welfare with no tangible benefit to anyone.

  20. JanCorey Says:

    Found more television reporting on some of the fraud taking place by many soldiers claiming PTSD as well as more fraud by companies soliciting money from the public to help soldiers that never get a cent. Shut the entire thing down and lock up the violators both with the companies and the soldiers falsely using my tax-dollars!

    • Anonymous Says:

      I was talking today with an O1 in the navy whose cousin gets unemployment and welfare because she can make more that way then working. She’s been doing it for 2 years. Three days ago I was behind a woman with at least $500 worth of tattoos on her arms and back checking her grocery list on a newer iPhone then I have before she used food stamps to pay for her groceries. She had money for other things but not food.
      I’m not saying there isn’t fraud in the VA system. I’m not saying everyone who has PTSD is taking (as jancorey is). All I’m saying is that statistically speaking, not only are there more people getting more money fraudulently, incorrectly, or unethically but the amount they get (especially in the quantity) is higher then any fraudulent VA claims.
      Not only are you barking up the wrong tree you’re doing it in the wrong forum. I get that maybe you have proof (not that we’ve seen it) of fraud by vets and that’s an issue you can tackle. But you won’t be convincing anyone here that it’s the bigger important issue.

      • JanCorey Says:

        Thank you Anon for your kindly-worded-attack on what I continue to witness. I am pro-military through and through, but just a little peeved at seeing such corruption being perpetrated by our vets and a daily basis and it causes me some discomfort when I am a contributor to the tax-paying population that most vets are not even a part of that. I would like again to admire vets, but their actions by most of the many vets I know of make it increasingly difficult. If you disagree, then clearly you haven’t seen what I am continuing to see.

        • WordPress.com body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}

          I’ve refrained from making this personal, and this is as close as I’ll get. JanCorey, you clearly have some deep-seated personal issue anchored with this subject.  For whatever bothers you, I’m sorry.  I categorically disagree – PTSD is real because I have it to some degree.  I’m not taking ‘your’ money for it, but I know good men who have done good things who now suffer for it.  They deserve far more than the pittance of public monies you complain and rail about, because they – by their actions – have made payment on your right to air your opinion on this subject.   I for one vote that we close this debate.  Nobody’s mind is about to be changed.  I respect everyone’s right to an opinion, but once people lose the ability to differntiate between opinion and fact, debate becomes irritating.

          • JanCorey Says:

            I fully agree with you BR, there are just too many that deny just how much corruption by some soldiers seeking and exploiting the fundings of PTSD and the facts of how the military has been currently closing their offerings of the highest paid PTSD recipients, into the thousands for just this year alone, proves to me just how corrupt these military-welfare frauds truly are. But, I appreciate your willingness to at least listen to someone who sees it personally continue on a daily basis. I respect you immensely.

  21. Love your blog, Humor is an awesome way to live, keep up the good work for the country & keep your fellow soldiers Laughing!
    Peace.

  22. Fascinating thread – great letter, interesting comments.
    Sadly, I was never allowed to enlist because of being diabetic (Recrutier couldn’t find a way around it which kind of surprised me from what I’ve heard of recruiters).

    My hat is off to you, and a sincere thanks to you and all the .45% – a number that is shamefully low.
    And I think a draft, or some other mandatory service is a great idea.
    I just don’t necessarily trust the gov’t to administer it…

    • Guapo, I’m sure you would have been a credit to the Military. But that condition is pretty hard to cover, and it would have traced back to him (the recruiter).

Join the Ranting!

