An Issue Of Burning Importance

I looked back using my home page (useful damn tool, that homepage) and noted that I’ve been at this blogging thing since the third day of June last year. Soon after, on the 29th of July I started an unbroken string of daily posts. According to my Dashboard, I’ve posted 350 blog posts, all told. This will be 351.

In these last two weeks leading up to this Friday, I’ve put in a lot of effort to get this site ticking along in a semi-autonomous way. Naturally, my posts have reflected a lot of preparation and reflection on my pending deployment to Afghanistan.

One thing I’ve gotten back is a huge amount of emotion ranging from shock to dispair to outrage and to sadness that I’m leaving. Which is pretty amazing, considering I have never met one of you fine people in person. Funny how this all works, I suppose. Before I go on, I want to clear up some timeline issues so that I don’t sound like a stupid douchenozzle later on:

  • I leave Friday, the 20th, and head down to Georgia for some training and some issue of way too much fucking useless equipment.
  • After doing the Georgia thing, I get to cool my ranty heels in Kuwait. I have nothing good to say about Kuwait, sorry about that any Kuwaitis.
  • Finally, I’ll get scheduled on a military flight into Afghanistan, and my asspain party commences.

So being an old hand at this Army shit that I do, I have to assume that virtually everything will come unglued at the seams on Friday. At least in terms of blogging. Always expect the worst. Having said that, what is of clear and vital importance to you all based on your feedback to me, is this statement:

I PLAN ON BLOGGING ALONG THE WAY AND ONCE I AM THERE

No guarantees to you Rant Junkies who need your daily fix. Sorry, that the way it be’s. However, to conclude this update, I’d like to express thanks to everyone who has made this almost-year so much fun. Yes, even you, John Erickson – blogless wonder that you are.

More than one of you have asked me one way or another what aspect about blogging is best to me. My answer has been pretty steady all this time. My answer is that as much fun as it is creating something – writing – it is not as much fun without the feedback on that creation. To me that makes this whole site a two-part effort, and I’ve only done one half of that work.

Thanks to everyone out there who’s done the other heavy lifting. Be patient, I’m still going to be here.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

On a similar note, the wild roses growing up the back of my house bloomed today, apparently to say, “Thank you for all that delicious pee you gave us all year! We’ll miss you!”

54 Responses to “An Issue Of Burning Importance”

  1. Stay safe over there.

  2. savorthefolly Says:

    next time try pooping on the rose bushes. they’ll like that even better.

    • savorthefolly Says:

      wow. if this is supposed to be your last post before you go I’m going to feel like a real jack ass.

      seriously dude, I know I haven’t been around much lately, but it’s been good times. I hope you do get to post often while you’re there. I for one can’t wait to hear your middle east rantiness.

    • I’d say no, but then I know what you’d ask me.

  3. Definitely the interaction in teh comments.
    You’re a class act, BR. Keep on rockin.

  4. Mrs John here, John was wondering if you got his note earlier? Our intertubes are broken, and mine is the only computer working right now. You can email me at sylumalliegator@gmail.com and I can deliever any message. For about 30 more minutes. Then am going to bed.

    • Yes, Ma’m I did, and answered. Sorry your connectivity is down. I don’t fly until Friday morning, but I’ll still have my email. Tell John not to worry, and I’ll be back. You’re a very wonderful person for worrying about this, ma’m.

  5. Stay safe.
    I’ll be looking forward to all your future posts!

  6. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    Sweet post..and who are you calling a junkie? hhmmm…okay – I admit I may be addicted. You are a very good writer! (and wickedly funny)

  7. Great post dude. Thanks for everything that you and your fellow soldiers do for us and come back home safe.

  8. I wish you the best of luck man. You’ve done a great job on the blog and I look forward to seeing more from you when you have time. (After the 20th that is.)

    • Thanks Rufus – and Katherine (you goddamn better pass that on, dude). I will follow your epic recipes this next year and collect them as I have this past one. No, dude, I really do.

  9. So that’s the secret! Our roses are out front…guess I’ll have to wait till the lights go out in the neighbors’ houses at night. You’re our hero, Rants. I mean about the Army stuff, not pissing on the roses. Well, roses too…aw, shucks, I’m tongue-tied.

  10. Great. I finally bump into a fun blog and you split for Disneyland East. To quote you, “shit”. Actually, that’s an original statement. I wish you a safe tour. Watch yer six.

  11. I find it so eery that you started blogging on my daughter’s birthday and then started blogging daily on my anniversary. Coincedence? I think not!

    • Tell that one guy in DC about it… the one with the pointy-out ears you’ve been trying to call. Thanks for today, Jamie, that was really awesome. I am as big a fan of your special brand of rantiness as you are of mine. Just less expressive. Y chromosome… yeah.

  12. Rants! Do be safe on the other side.. We’ll be here when you decide to pop your head in…
    Thanks for serving our country and putting up with tons of bullshit that I cannot possibly fathom.
    You rock.

    • It’s my honor to serve you all and keep you safe. No joke. I will pop in, so stand the fuck by, as the Marine drill sergeants say. Not a Marine, but I love those guys. Darlene, you rock too, really.

  13. All good things come to those Kuwait. (Sorry, couldn’t resist). Semper Fi and many thanks for your service, my friend.

  14. Rant. you have no idea how many people will miss your observations and humor. This is an example.
    Funny ha ha and funny strange. xo

  15. I echo the others. I love reading your stuff so you make sure you pop in as you can. Be safe and thank you so much for your service!

  16. Thanks for being you and doing what you do. Stay safe man … and preferably with no new holes. πŸ˜‰

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
    (an old Irish blessing … just for you)

  17. I’m late to the party, as usual. Take care, Rants and if you be bloggin’ I be readin’. πŸ™‚

  18. You’re still going to be here? I want my going away gift back.

    Seriously, keep low and out of harms way. We all look forward to your continued rantiness!

  19. I’ll be thinking of you, wishing you the best and looking forward to your posts. Stay safe!

  20. Internet is the weirdest place. Friends all over the world… but you’ve never met them.
    If there’s one thing I’m good in, then it’s mental support, so take this with you if you’d like to *mental support, carefully packed, airplaneproof* and use it when you need it.
    (Mental support can be used for almost everything, for mental support, as a comfort, to cheer you up, to throw at others, etc. No prescription needed. Very tasty when dipped in tea.)

  21. Rants, I’m really gonna miss you! Stay safe as you can and I’ll be praying for a very uneventful tour. Glad you’ll do your best to keep up on the blog for us rants junkies. Hoping for safe travels!

  22. John Erickson Says:

    What else can I add, with all the wonderful posts preceding mine? You just behave yourself, ’cause if I have to come to the sandbox to bail your butt out, there’s gonna be BIGTIME trouble! πŸ˜€
    Keep yer head down and yer powder dry, and watch out fer them Spam MREs! πŸ˜‰

  23. […] More than once. Morezennow unlocked one of the mysteries of Jesus, and BrainRants got ready to head off to Afghanistan. Be safe, […]

  24. Stay safe. Don’t make us wait too long between rants. Because it’s all about us, you know.

Join the Ranting!

