The Soundtrack Of My Life

I’ve seen several blogs recently that deal with various music that sets the theme for the blogger’s life. There are some variations here as well, but after the idea sat in my head (a lonely condition for a thought) for a while I decided it was a pretty good post topic and that I’d just outright steal appropriate the idea for a blog post.

If there were one single song that would be a theme song for my entire life, I would have to go with ‘Woo Hoo’ (Kill Bill Theme). You may be more familiar with it in the Vonage commercial arena. It just fits. You kinda have to be me to understand. For those still not placing the song, you can substitute ‘Twilight Zone’ by Golden Earring because that pretty much works just as damn well.

Birth: ‘Should I Stay or Should I Go?’ – The Clash. Didn’t expect that, did you? Well neither did I right at that moment, but the good news is I opted to stay. Later, I was included in a ‘go’ as the family moved to SoCal.

Mini-Human Phase: Because I had zero taste in music in this period, I have to borrow what my folks listened to on Saturday Steak Nights: Glenn Miller, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Cash, Herp Albert, and Tom Jones. I know, I know – probably a wonder I developed any normal taste at all, but I still will listen to those great artists.

Teenage-ish Bullshit: ‘Bodies’ – Drowning Pool. I couldn’t think of any songs that dealt with a nerdy dickwad so I had to go with the post-nerd period when I played football and was mildly cool. ‘Bodies’ summarizes my approach to that sport and life in general at that time.

Transition to Army Stuff: ‘The Star Spangled Banner’ captures this pretty well. For those of you who are irreverent as I am, you can easily substitute Jimi Hendrix‘ version. I still dig that take on it, but am less inclined to associate that with my sense of service now.

Being Married, then not, then again, then not again: There are thousands of songs that capture the joy and heartbreak of love and marriage, and the feeling of being bent over the proverbial table for a round of un-lubed prison sex that goes with it. I have to pick ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ by Joy Division and ‘Crazy Bitch’ by Buckcherry here. They speak for themselves, I think.

My Fucked Up Period: The best song to characterize this lovely interlude of my world is “Marian” by Sisters of Mercy, just because it’s so dark. Another really great one of course is “I Wanna Be Sedated” by The Ramones.

Getting My Shit In One Bag: Three words: ‘Indestructable’ by Disturbed.

There is clearly a lot left to be written. Unfortunately I don’t have any bitchen superpowers to predict what kind of wacky shit will befall me between now and later. That said, the one thing I do know for certain pending some massive breakthrough in biotechnology is that at some point I’ll need a song for my funeral: “Amazing Grace” on bagpipes, and “Taps” of course, but played in the three-bugle harmonized version.

36 Responses to “The Soundtrack Of My Life”

  1. Some great tunes there

  2. Very interesting soundtrack..
    Mini-human phases… your parents had Saturday Steak Night? freaking sweet!

    My mini human phase was spent with a Fisher Price record player and my mom’s Beach Boys albums.

    btw – I dig this “soundtrack to life” theme.

  3. mkultra76 Says:

    Bagpipes and bugles rock.

  4. This topic is a great idea. And The Clash is a great band – always suggests good things if it’s your soundtrack.

    Well, maybe not “Guns of Brixton.” Things may not be going so well at that point.

  5. Props for listening to Sisters of Mercy!

  6. You are all over the place! I am so glad there is no secret bieber on your list…I’d have to unblog you

  7. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    I love the Drowning Pool song…lol…interesting post.

  8. Oh Glenn Miller… I was born in ’87 and listen to all of the big band stuff. 🙂 Eclectic much? Overall seems like a pretty rad/wild soundtrack to me!

  9. I don’t know the first songs, but as soon as Joy Division and the rest passed by, I felt a great love for you.
    So, do you come here often? 😉

  10. John Erickson Says:

    Don’t worry, I won’t mention your ABBA fetish if you don’t reveal mine for The Village People.
    Um .. oops? 😉

    • Aha! And now I have incontrovertible proof!

      • John Erickson Says:

        Proof of WHAT? You’re trying to embarass me with The Village People? Dude, if that’s the best you got, give it up! You gotta get WAY more embarassing than music – after all, I publicly admit to my first romantic proposition coming from another guy! 😀
        Besides, anybody who admits to loving Spike Jones (and knowing who he and his band are) won’t be embarassed by his taste in music. You gotta dig WAY farther than that. Start with my convention-going days! 😉

  11. Ride of the Valkyries…my personal theme song. (It was also my walkup music when I still played ball.)

  12. Songs define our sense of who we are.
    Interesting post, Matt.

Join the Ranting!

