Cookin’ With Rants: Mama Rants’ Baked Spaghetti

It never occurred to me to put this one up, mainly because as a kid growing up, we truthfully ate this way more than was probably advisable. Sort of like meat loaf – which I still can’t really tolerate to this day. I’ll eat it, but I don’t order it or make it. This dish will leave you happily groggy once the carbs and cheese settle into your gut.

Anyway, this dish I’ve overcome my aversion to because it is just too cheesy and delicious not to. This is a total comfort-food staple that I’m told has Southern origins. Plus, it is far too easy to make. But some reader feedback on a post on this week’s visit to my Mom’s house indicated this might be worth sharing. This sounds fairly bland, but served hot it is simple yet cheesy enough to make you want to slap yourself.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of spaghetti, cooked al dente
  • 3 cans (15oz) of petite diced tomatoes
  • 2 packages of Cracker Barrel sharp cheddar cheese, cut into small hunks

Preparation: As I said, this is too easy. Cook and drain the spaghetti. In the pot, add the diced tomatoes, including about two cans’ worth of the juice. Add the cheese hunks. Stir everything together for a uniform mix. Turn the mix out into a 9 x 13″ pan. Bake at 350° for around 45 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly.

I specified the kind of cheese to use because it really is the best. However, any good sharp cheddar will work as long as it’s quality cheese. This can be served with just about any side, but I prefer a green vegetable, salad, and garlic bread. Baked spaghetti keeps quite well in the refrigerator and can also be frozen and re-heated later. I have to admit it is pretty good cold straight from the ‘fridge, but that’s just me.

Furthermore, I’m guessing that some adventuresome cooks out there will come up with interesting ways to kick this up. While I have not yet tried variants of this recipe, I’d suggest adding black olives, sauteed garlic hunks, artichoke hearts, broccoli, or even crushed nuts such as cashews or almonds. Personally, I haven’t been curious about modifications because the basic dish is just good enough.

Cheese!

16 Responses to “Cookin’ With Rants: Mama Rants’ Baked Spaghetti”

  1. I THINK IT SOUNDS ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! THANK YOU!

  2. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    You’re Awesome Rants! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I just ate breakfast and now I’m hungry again.

  4. Omg that sounds good. Can you feel your arteries clogging when you eat it?

  5. I love dishes that only call for a few ingredients. That said I’d be adding garlic. Just couldn’t help myself.

  6. Thanks so much for posting this. I will experiment with a generous splash of Merlot in the mix, too. Hats off to Mama…

  7. Easy peasy pasketti pie! YUMMY. 😀

  8. I may make this tonight, and you bet I’ll kick things up. NO GARLIC? BLASPHEMER!

Join the Ranting!

