Random Thought # 39

Ever notice that nobody likes to eat the heel slices of a loaf of bread? I don’t either because I feel like I’m being screwed out of an entire slice of bread.

48 Responses to “Random Thought # 39”

  1. I love heel bread… but it has to be toasted.

  2. I’m with you, heel bread goes with the dog. Good insight. Please check out my blog if you get a chance, i’m new and don’t have many friends yet, you are funny as hell though. penny

  3. Even when I make homemade bread, the heel is the last to go and sometimes, I am forced to use it to make stuffing for turkey or chicken…the law of the land, I suppose.

  4. I always choose the heel/heal (now I’m confused) of the bread. I feel sorry for it because no one else wants it.

  5. Hey, now. The flock of pigeons at the park love the heel bread. Of course, I have to spike it with poison first.

  6. my husband will make an entire sandwich out of the heels…I don’t get it.

  7. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    hhmmm… (I’m pondering your random thought) I guess I would say, slap some butter on there and eat it…

  8. I love the heel because I like the crust. I’m the only one in the family that does like. But when my son was little I could make a peanut butter sandwich turn the crust toward the peanut butter so the bread side showed and he never knew he was eating a heel. Mean Mom ME.

  9. My grandmother did but then she was strange. Since I started low carb I’ve pretty much given up bread. I miss it more than I miss cake.

  10. John Erickson Says:

    Heels can work as bun extenders. (HAMBURGER buns, ya pervert!) Use ’em as the “bottom” half of the bun pair – works especially well using the heels from homemade bread.
    Now if somebody can explain why they are called “heels”. Do they behave badly toward the other slices? 😉

  11. I like it. Uh oh, I’m that guy.

  12. I’m with the heel eaters (though we’re gonna need a better name).
    Throw some cheese on that puppy, squish it up and chomp away.

  13. I hate heels, my husband loves them – how lucky am I? When my husband is away I stick them in the freezer & use them for stuffing too. Have to make stuffing this weekend . . .

  14. On a good loaf of home-made bread . . . I love the end pieces. On store bought generic bread . . . the heel holds no appeal.

    Feed it to the birds.
    Make bread crumbs.
    Sauted with onion for stuffing.

    But do NOT expect ME to eat it. 😉

Join the Ranting!

