Random Thought #37

The dude who invented cling wrap was an evil genius for creating a product that guarantees you’ll waste as much as you use because it’s nearly impossible to get right the first time.

40 Responses to “Random Thought #37”

  1. I am really good at maximizing plastic wrap use. But Katherine can’t use the stuff. So it equals out.

  2. Hah this is so true. Breaking it off right the first time is an impressive skill.

  3. I find that swearing helps. Not with the cling wrap itself, but with dealing with it.

  4. Get a commercial box. It will last you forever, and the box is heavy enough to stay in place while you pull and cut the length you need.
    One of my regrets leaving restaurants is going back to dinky boxes of plastic wrap.
    (not going to think about what that says about me…)

    • Good suggestion actually. I normally just default to aluminum foil since I can recycle that.

    • Totally the way to go with this – I have an industrial size cutter which follows me around & even though it’s in the way I cannot recommend it enough! Go to Costco or one of the other big box chains to get a commercial refill & I’m good for years!
      Of course if we were smart & environmentally friendly we would use reusable containers always instead of plastic wrap. Maybe that’s why my rolls last me for years?

  5. Plastic wrap: practice in frustration and annoyance…not to mention the razor blade sharp cutting edge that slices fingers better than the plastic wrap.

  6. never thought of it that way but you are SO right!!!

  7. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    I have fought with plastic wrap before..lol..I say to hell with it – gimme some foil.

  8. I hate cling wrap, saran wrap.. whatever wrap. Give me foil. Foil!

  9. May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.

    – 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17 (NIV)hi hope all is well”dot,,thanks

  10. My mother-in-law swears keeping it in the freezer prevents it from sticking to itself. I’m not sure if this is true because I’m too lazy to try it myself. How sad is that?

  11. Skip the plastic wrap, go directly to Ziploc bags (or whatever generic name they’re called). I’ll save my REAL hatred for the idiot who put “easy to remove” paper on the back of those cards that certain medicines (like cold pills) come in. If I ever find that schmuck, in this world OR the next, I’m gonna MASSACRE him!

  12. Boxes with a built in sliding cutter work best, but even then . . . EVIL. :mrgreen:

  13. It’s great if you’re trying to drop three pounds in a hurry. Do not ask how I know this.

  14. savorthefolly Says:

    or the cling wrap that doesn’t actually cling. ARGH!

  15. cling wrap was invented for those who had graduated from paper wrap

Join the Ranting!

