Random Thought #30

Have you ever been outside at night and looked up and just kind of contemplated the whole epic magnitude of the universe – tried to take in the vast scale of what you’re gazing at as you realize your monkey brain is hopelessly incapable of grasping certain concepts and the sheer size of the numbers involved alone?

Yeah, me neither. I usually lose my balance and fall off the curb – or some similar, stupid, but typical shit – before I get to that point.

26 Responses to “Random Thought #30”

  1. I do this all the time, though not the falling off the curb thing – at least not lately. The last couple of nights I’ve been treated to a beautiful crescent moon with Venus just a little above it. Oh, and if you stand still – it’s easier to keep your balance – I learned that the hard way.

  2. I prefer to start from a prone position. With a beer in hand. And more nearby.

  3. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    I think you should lay in a hammock in the backyard when contemplating magnitude of universe…then you dont have to worry about falling unless of course you fall out of hammock..

  4. Are these sober thoughts? Because in my head you are drunk as a skunk before you tumble ( but you saved your beer…didn’t spill a drop)

  5. I’ve done that in the passenger seat of my convertible as a sober friend drove me home after a night of imbibing. I think I saw stars pointing at me and laughing.

  6. Ha, ha. Good one. And same answer here, no.

  7. From the genius that is Douglas Adams, I offer up…

    “Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind- bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.”

  8. John Erickson Says:

    Oh come on, you gotta ask in my case? Me, with the Trekkie background and an Email address using the name of a starship I designed? REALLY? 😉
    That is about the only positive thing about living where I do – absolutely ZERO light pollution. Unless you’ve been out on the ocean, or in some really nowhere place like this (or Afghanistan 😀 ), you ain’t NEVER seen so many stars!
    Not even at a Star Trek convention……

    • The best stargazing place I’ve been is Fort Irwin, out in the North end of the training area. Even there Las Vegas blots out about 1/6th of the eastern sky, but the rest is nothing but spectacular Milky Way backbone of the night. I even saw the Enterprise.

  9. NASA just found 26 new planets in 11 social systems . . . so someone must be contemplating the night sky! 😯

  10. Mostly if I’m outside at night, I feel bad.
    I guess I should go to sleep instead of going out.

  11. Hahahahahaha! I just get a kink in my neck.

  12. Having balance problems, this can sometimes be difficult for me too. But I love the night sky & sometimes I just have to do some stargazing. I opt for slouching down in a lawnchair method!

Join the Ranting!

