Football Season Near Rant-Up

Today I’m mentally a bit paralyzed thinking of all the shit I have to do between now and the time I leave, Christmas, my son coming to visit, and other issues that are ongoing and continue to eat up my Rant processor time. I’ll toss in there that I apparently seem to be coming down with a cold, so I’ll definitely have to refer back to my post of last week and see what I can do about this fuckery going on in my sinuses.

The good news is, given the football teams I routinely root for, I’ve nearly always got some kind of tasty rant ready to unleash as a backup plan. Statistically speaking, the season thus far looks a bit brighter than last year’s at this time. This is the deliciousness as it stands on my “Go Team” list:

USC: Overall my Trojans finished 10-2, losing only to Stanford and Arizona State. Not bad for the Pac-12 (this reprised name still irritates the shit out of me). The best part? No bowl games, because in SoCal we like to bribe pay our players for performance. Next year will be interesting since the NCAA sanctions will be lifted.

Army: Yeah, for all the shit-talking I did, this one was a painful year, notably the Army-Navy game, which I won’t dwell on because it’s hard to type while crying. Finishing the season at 3-9, it was business as usual for Army. I’m looking forward to the hope of a 4-8 or possibly a break-even year. Personally I’d be satisfied with a 1-11 year so long as that one win is over Navy.

Oakland Raiders: Team loyalty always is painful, and few teams are more painful to remain loyal to than my Raiders. We’re virtually unchanged over last year’s mediocrity even with Al Davis dead. Sitting at even in their division but only one game back of the leader, I suppose there’s hope for us making the playoffs and being crushed there. I’m not holding my breath.

Stacked up next to 2010, there’s not much difference here, and I for one am underwhelmed.

15 Responses to “Football Season Near Rant-Up”

  1. whiteladyinthehood Says:

    Mentally paralyzed? You? Nah..you’re probably just trying to do tooo much. (easy for me to say, huh?) It’s the holidays – enjoy them. Your son is coming – that’s awesome~sauce, right? And Rants, maybe you should take a night off to unwind and grab Mrs. BR and take her to wherever it is you two like to go and get out on the dance floor and Shake it Like a Salt Shaker…

  2. my husband was a loyal raiders fan for quite some time, and his loyalty is waning. he still holds out hope…

  3. John Erickson Says:

    You’re crabbing about the Raiders? I got two words for ya. “Da” and “Bears”. Pitch the Cubs on top of that, and NO ONE should wonder why I no longer follow sports closely. πŸ˜€
    And OSU got punted from next year’s bowl schedule. If you love OSU, don’t read the following line.
    YEAH! Buncha self-obsessed smartasses! Couldn’t happen to a more deserving prick collection!
    Okay, back to our regularly scheduled silliness, already in progress.. πŸ˜‰

  4. […] I admire Stephen King for his mastery of characterization and worship Neil Gaiman for, well, everything, but Chuck Palahniuk is the only writer who ever made me WANT to write. His literary voice and story lines are so eerily similar to mine that I have to wonder if we are related somehow. For me, reading one of his novels is like reliving painful childhood memories spent with a better-looking, ultra-talented sibling, feeling the push-pull of striving to be like him only to hate him when I fail in comparison. Now I truly know how it feels to be an Oakland Raiders fan. […]

Join the Ranting!

