AutoTopic: Do You Think Money Can Buy Happiness?

You know these Word Press AutoTopic things might be a crutch but a lot of the time they set me up nicely for a rant, screed, or other random scattering of my mental marbles.  Sort of like a digital straight-man.  Anyway, the answer to that is a definite but qualified NO.

Obviously nobody’s established a Happiness Outlet in any mall I’ve ever been in (not that I willingly venture into malls).  Perhaps if you believe the advertising, they have, but in the end there’s not really any one thing that once purchased will make a person happy.  Bacon comes close, but it of course is fleeting.  And fattening.

There are probably a lot of great, awesome quotes I could look up that address ‘buy happiness’ topic, and some of them are funny.  I said above that my ‘no’ was qualified, and it is.  To lead into the explanation, my own quote:

“Life is like a shit sandwich.  The more bread you have, the less shit you eat at once.”

               – BrainRants, 2011

I am pretty sure I crafted that entirely myself.  Feel free to sling that one around as you see fit.  Most recently I’ve used it to illustrate the importance of having a job to Daughter Unit The First.  The point of it, in case you missed it in your bout of eye-watering laughter, is that money might not buy happiness but having enough of it sure does go a long way toward taking the rough edges off of life.

Understand here that my experience in this subject is based on the corresponding opposite condition.  The Army is a lot of fun and adventure, and that is part of the reason I stay in because it sure doesn’t pay well in spite of what the propaganda says.  I don’t have a lot of money and never did, but I’m minimally bright enough to be able to see how having more – sometimes big piles of it more – would really, really help get past things or fix shit faster that needs fixing.  I wouldn’t want to win a lottery or jackpot – too much publicity and too many whackjobs and slickie-boys then trying to separate you from your windfall. That, and I’ve come to know that you can’t truly appreciate anything unless you earn it. In the meantime I’ll choke down those poopy bites, heavy on the poo.

So that’s my two cents on that topic.

36 Responses to “AutoTopic: Do You Think Money Can Buy Happiness?”

  1. it’s nice to see a man who feels that way. I went on a date last week with a guy who I thought was as down to earth as me, but he picked me up in a Lexus (over priced Toyota). If I can’t tell within three seconds where you’d put your dog or your fishing poles then dude, drive on by.

    As far as money goes I’ve only been concerned with having enough for what my kids need, not necessarily with having enough for everything they want. I think the best thing about America is it gives you the opportunity to choose what you want for yourself, including money. As for me, it never mattered.

  2. While having lots of disposable income gives you lots of opportunities to acquire stuff or travel, it doesn’t bring you happiness. Happiness is a choice.

    I love your phrase “taking the rough edges off of life.” That so beautifully describes what a little extra cash can do. Another great post!

  3. HA! I wrote your awesome quote in my little quotes book I keep with me- I shall have to use it some time.

  4. John Erickson Says:

    I’ve had money, and I’ve had bupkiss, and I do have to say the bupkiss sucks. That said, when I had the money, I didn’t have much of a life – living in my folks’ house, working during the week, flying around the country to sci-fi cons on the weekend. Fun, hell yeah, but not much of a life. It ain’t TOO bad down here in Ohio, provided I can get rid of the neighbors that share our driveway. If my Email address suddenly changes to folsom.gov or something like that, you’ll know I got rid of them AND found a new career. 😉

    • Never did understand how driveways are shared.

      • John Erickson Says:

        One driveway in between two houses – we have a garage in back, they just have a parking area. So my wife has to walk to the house from the garage – a good 80 to 100 feet in the open, not bad but still a pain. They have a pull-off right next to their back door – so they feel that they can park IN THE DAMN DRIVEWAY ITSELF! Oh, and any damage they cause (it’s mud and gravel) doesn’t count, since they rent, but if I close off the drive to do repairs by hand, I am a horrible person. This is the third time we’ve gone through this BS, and I got the previous two sets of A-holes punted out of the house for various reasons.
        But every new neighbor thinks they’re smarter and tougher than me, so they gotta push. And they get mad when I push back. It’ll take another 8-10 months, but they’ll end up moving, just like the rest. At that point, I think the house may suffer a tragic electrical fire…..

      • John Erickson Says:

        Just the real estate laws. The drive is about 2/3 on our lot, 1/3 on theirs. I have been gathering materials to expand our side, but have to do it gradually, or I have to file all sorts of costly permits. I’m hoping to get some of it done this fall, and some more done next spring. Once we have enough room PURELY on our property to drive a car, I’m gonna throw up a fence and dare all comers. I’m sick of the BS. Why can’t these retards understand SHARE? If the car isn’t moving, get it the heck outta the drive!

  5. The Outcast Says:

    A good friend told me this last week:

    “I’m dirt poor but I’d rather be dirt poor and living on the street, in a cardboard box, than be rich. I never want to be rich because they’re not ever content. In short, I would rather be poor and happy than rich and miserable.”

    Paraphrasing yeah, but it rings true.

  6. Someone once said the only thing having lots of money does is eliminate the worry of having money.

    You know, I believe that’s good enough for me!

    • John Erickson Says:

      The problem, as I see it, is the time/money interface. In my life at least, it seems when I have enough of one, I never have enough of the other. I had tons of disposable income when I was younger, but I was working most of the time. Now, I have ALL day long, but no money.
      Now find me a formula to maximise BOTH money and time, and that might be the answer! 😀

      • I think that while some people say time is money, and that might be true for them, I tend to envision having money as being able to buy more free time for what I enjoy doing.

    • The Outcast Says:

      Excellent point you have there!

    • Good observation!

  7. As the Grinch realized from watching the Whos down in Whoville:

    Happiness doesn’t come from a store
    Happiness means just a little bit more

    Provided that you have enough bread to satisfy the daily necessities ~ food, shelter, water, clothing, and . . . . bacon.

  8. wordsfallfrommyeyes Says:

    I agree you can’t truly appreciate anything unless you’ve earned it. I know that well. As for your shit sandwich – yeek, the mental picture I had!

  9. So where do you find Auto Topics? That could come in handy when I’m not feeling creative enough to think of something…

  10. I don’t think so… On the right, above the publish button and near the options to post it to Facebook and what-not there is a Schedule button. I have it post each morning at exactly 6:00 am. I never get up that early.

    • Yeah, I have been tempted to try it but I prefer to do the “click”/” ‘ posted’ ” thing myself. Call me a Luddite.

      • I would, but I don’t know what a Luddite is.

        I like the satisfaction of clicking it and seeing it go live too, but since I don’t usually get up until around ten and do most of my work late at night, that doesn’t mesh very well with my goal to stick to a regular schedule. I’ll have to try it once sometime soon though so I can get a look at the auto-topic thing though. Thanks for your help!

        • Luddite – an anti-technologist. … Use The Google.
          OMG Ten!?! Seriously?? Jesus can I get a job at where you are?? Phuck.

          Try 0400 for the past 19 years. Fuck me.

Join the Ranting!

