Random Thought #15

A conversational excerpt from post-dinner chat at my Aunt’s house.  Context: Aunt F had been wondering about the rebuild job on the Pentagon (Five-Sided Daycare Facility), and I’d noted that they fixed it well and made it look exactly like nothing happened on 9/11.  She then transitioned to a new line of thought:

  • Aunt F:  “And what about that other building there in D.C.?  Have you seen that one too?”
  • Me:  “Uhm, I may have, but there are more than a few buildings in D.C. Can you narrow that down any?”
  • Aunt F:  “Oh, you know which one I’m talking about.  It was just in the news.  The empty one.”
  • Me:  [with not a second’s pause]  “Oh, the White House?”
  • Room: [snorting coffee out nostrils]

Nothing beats a good straight-man set up.

8 Responses to “Random Thought #15”

  1. he’s on vacation somewhere right?

  2. Bwahaha! {{spraying coffee on keyboard}}

  3. John Erickson Says:

    Ya gotta love a good straight man (or woman). And I still think “five-sided daycare center” i the best description I’ve ever heard!

    • Dude, you have no idea. I may have to give you some phone numbers to people in there and let you just fake your way through a bizarre conversation with them… Aaaaauugh!!!

      • John Erickson Says:

        Ooo, that’d be fun! Considering I helped maintain a credit-card collections system, I have a pretty good grip on getting transferred ad nauseum and working with”For Collections, press 1″ type systems. Trying to hunt somebody in the Pentagon would be like a Dungeons And Dragons maze – except I can’t get killed (good) and I can’t kill anybody (really bad). 😀

Join the Ranting!

