AutoTopic: Describe Your Ideal Saturday Night

Ha!  Ok you asked for it, Mr. WordPress autotopic generator.  My Ideal Saturday Night occurs sometime in the future, so I suppose this will be my first published Science Fiction.  I think it will look a lot like this when if it happens:

I am surveying my small kingdom from my front porch with a beer snuggled into a coozie in hand.  The evening air is cool but not uncomfortable in the days of a warm fall.  The setting sun is setting the turning leaves of the hardwoods firey colors, punctuated by the pines.  I reflect on the Awesome Day I’ve just completed.  It began well after finishing off my 11,578th BrainRant post for my virtual army of fans.  Afterward, I woke Di with a warm cup of coffee and a kiss, then slipped quietly out to the woodshop as she snuggled deeper into the covers.  In the shop, wrapped in the aroma of sawdust, turpentine, and varnish, I expertly finish off another masterpiece of Arts and Crafts furniture to complete our home’s complement.  As I sweep up the wood dust I think what a lucky man I am that in spite of the hours I absent myself in here, Di remains supportive and enthusiastic about the works I generate.

I close the shop and decide, on a whim, to mow the yard a day early.  Fortuitously, Di waves from the back railing with her coffee – I will not awaken her with the mower.  I move from woodworking Zen to lawn care Zen, mowing, edging, and weeding where needed.  I finish and smilingly present Di a heavy basket of fresh garden produce, likely the last of the season.  I munch down some delicious leftovers and set out tonight’s steaks to thaw for later grilling.  I prepare to shower when Di asks me to fetch the mail, and I do so buck naked, just because I can, and because I live so far off paved roads that this behavior is undetectable.  I find a few bills and the inevitable junk mail among the royalty checks for my books and the payments for my highly-sought works of furniture art.  I toss these on the pile for whenever I get around to it.

After making myself smell good with a shower, I take some time to read.  Di tells me the kids are coming over for a visit, and we’re overjoyed.  I help her straighten and prepare the spare bedrooms, and dig out some sleeping bags.  As the afternoon sun gets richer and the shadows lengthen, I fire up the grill as first one and then another car arrives.  Our daughters, finally getting time off from their hectic but well-paying, successful careers, follow the shouting, running, energetic pack of grandkids that are about to wet their pants in excitement over visiting Granddad and Grandmom.  My equally-successful and well-paid sons-in-law greet me with smiles and I remark that they really can stop calling me ‘sir’ after all these years.

After a great dinner, my son calls from somewhere in the world – busy at his latest project but planning on dropping in next month.  I go to the kitchen and find our offspring and great-offspring have cleaned the kitchen.  Before joining everyone for a movie, I pull one last beer from the refrigerator and head outside…

Like I said, probably fiction, but I can always hope.

7 Responses to “AutoTopic: Describe Your Ideal Saturday Night”

  1. the Outcast Says:

    And here my ideal Sat. night is just a tad..well, a LOT….different haha. Might be something to do with my age and the fact I’m going to college. Yeah, the less said the better. ;D

    • As it should be. Enjoy it while you can.

      • The Outcast Says:

        Wow, that’s such a different answer from those yelled by my family. Thank you, Unknown Ranter, for not being uptight. If we ever meet in person, the drinks are on me…well, when it’s legal for me to actually buy those drinks, that is.

        • Perspective is key: you are not MY son. If you were, my reply would likely be different. Besides, I have no idea what a ‘real’ college experience is like. And beer offer accepted … someday.

      • The Outcast Says:

        But not yet. Not yet. Haha.

  2. Wonderful to be able to gather up your royalty checks while wearing The Emperor’s New Clothes! Just because you can!

    The rest of your family reads like a Danielle Steele novel. 😀

Join the Ranting!

