Describe Your Favorite Reading/Writing Spot

I decided to try this autotopic thingy that WordPress provides every time I post a new entry.  So the theme is above, in the title.  My favorite place to read?  That’s easy, because it’s the only place I get any chance to read: The Toilet.

Yeah, I’m a toilet reader.  I knock out most of my recreational reading every morning while I back out my morning dump.  Normally everyone is still asleep and the first cup of coffee is working its magic.  My biggest challenge is making sure I don’t lose track of time, because the Army expects me to show up on time daily and stuff.  I know, wacky, huh?  The other consideration is that if I sit there too long my legs and ass fall asleep.  That makes it tough to put on your pants.  Or hilarious.  It of course depends on your point of view.

This is not to say I don’t get other chances to read recreationally, but the odds drop off sharply after 0600 daily.  After that point, shit (generally speaking, not the brown stinky kind) starts happening and my time is no longer my own.  Reading at night in bed for me is an exercise in losing my place in the book, since that is what happens once the coma hits and I wake up later with the book mashed under my big ass.

On the issue of writing, that one is less easy to answer.  Although I’m a digital immigrant (vice native), the only things I write by hand anymore are grocery lists, card inscriptions, meeting notes, and my signature.  Oh, and an occasional love note post-it for Di.  Fully digitized, my writing then is constrained by one odd factor: my mouse.  I am a hardcore mouse user, and hate the fingerpad thing.  So I end up writing anywhere the keypad is accessible to my ape hands and the mouse has somewhere to go do its pointing thing.  Generally, these places are: the sofa, the lounger, here at the table, and in bed.  I’d note I have a super-mega-awesome mouse that will track on just about any surface except air molecules.

If it did that, I’d probably tap out my rants on the pooper as well.

4 Responses to “Describe Your Favorite Reading/Writing Spot”

  1. I’m a toilet reader too. Solitary time is ideal, plus it’s essentially killing two birds with one stone. 🙂

  2. For the reason you noted, I don’t enjoy reading on the toilet . . . I hate Numb Butt! 😆

Join the Ranting!

