You Have Got To Be Kidding

On my brief ride to work I got to hear a news story about some group that wants Sesame Street to have Bert and Ernie get married. 

I don’t even know where to start on this.  Do we really have to force these social issues into every last possible venue so we can feel good about ourselves?  Really?  This is a TV show for preschoolers.  You really can’t make up shit dumber than this.

Before you click to reply and accuse me of being a homophobe, don’t.  I am not anti-gay.  I am anti-stupid, and this falls squarely in the realm of stupid.  On the upside, Di and I are thankfully fresh out of preschoolers, so we can avoid potential parent-child conversation landmines like this one:

  • CHILD:  “Bert and Ernie are boys.  Why are they married?”
  • PARENT:  “Well, they love each other and like to put their pee pees in each other’s butts.”
  • CHILD:  << Traumatized crying >>
2 Responses to “You Have Got To Be Kidding”

  1. my sincere thanks for your appreciation of my thoughts, and book info. continue, tony

    • Tony, thanks. Love your random blog post comment conversation technique… seriously. Looking forward to more of your posted thoughts and such. The books, by the way, are something you’ll want to read with no distractions. And possibly a pencil and paper if I’m reading you correctly.

Join the Ranting!

